Epilepsy Foundation Community Members Receive Awards at AES

Epilepsy Foundation community members receive AES awards

Epilepsy News From:

Wednesday, December 15, 2021

American Epilepsy Society Annual Meeting Presents Awards to Members of the Epilepsy Foundation Community

The American Epilepsy Society (AES) welcomed attendees in person and virtually for the annual meeting in Chicago on December 3-7, 2021. At the meeting, two prestigious awards were presented to members of the Epilepsy Foundation community.


Dr. Elaine Wirrell was recognized with J. Kiffin Penry Award for Excellence in Epilepsy


Dr. Elaine Wirrell, professor of Neurology at Mayo Clinic, was recognized with the J. Kiffin Penry Award for Excellence in Epilepsy Care. This award, supported by the AES J. Kiffin Penry Fund, was established in 1997 in honor of Dr. Penry’s lifelong focus on, and genuine concern for, patients with epilepsy. It recognizes individuals whose work has had a major impact on patient care and an improvement in the quality of life for persons with epilepsy.

Dr. Wirrell is passionate about improving the lives of children with epilepsy, appreciating the tremendous impact this condition has on the entire family, and the critical importance of addressing seizures and comorbidities. She is a founding member of the Pediatric Epilepsy Research Consortium, and has collaborated with the Dravet Syndrome Foundation, LGS Foundation and DEE-P Connections in research and educational endeavors. Through her work with the International League Against Epilepsy (ILAE) and the International Child Neurology Association, she has strived to improve epilepsy care worldwide.

Read More About Dr. Wirrell


Gardiner Lapham earned the Extraordinary Contributions to the Field of Epilepsy Award


Gardiner Lapham, a passionate epilepsy advocate who lost her 4-year-old son to epilepsy, earned the Extraordinary Contributions to the Field of Epilepsy Award. The award is given to those who have made exceptional contributions across multiple fronts, including science, education, leadership, and advocacy. The award is presented at the discretion of the AES board of directors to a candidate whose accomplishments embody the spirit of the recognition.

After losing her son to sudden unexpected death in epilepsy (SUDEP), Gardiner became actively involved in the epilepsy community. She is former board chair of CURE Epilepsy and a co-founder and current chair of Partners Against Mortality in Epilepsy (PAME). She currently serves on the ILAE’ Global Outreach Task force. Gardiner is a trustee of the BAND Foundation, which supports SUDEP prevention and education work, as well as efforts to reduce the treatment gap in low-income countries.

Read More About Gardiner Lapham


Join the Epilepsy Foundation in congratulating Dr. Elaine Wirrell and Gardiner Lapham for their achievements.


Our Mission

The mission of the Epilepsy Foundation is to lead the fight to overcome the challenges of living with epilepsy and to accelerate therapies to stop seizures, find cures, and save lives.

24/7 helpline